Symbolbild Meer und Steilküste

Project partners of sustainMare

A total of 28 research institutions with around 280 participants came together at sustainMare to work on the two pilot projects and the five collaborative research projects. Several institutional partners from science and also from public authorities as well as societal partners work together in each project. In addition, many stakeholders are directly or indirectly involved in the work.

More detailed information about the partners can be found on the project websites. The target area of ​​sustainMare is in the German coastal waters and the entire area of ​​the North and Baltic Seas. However, our results will be meaningful far beyond that.

Map of Northern Germany with project areas

Map of project areas © Jens Greinert

1. Project partners

  1. Alfred-Wegener-Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Arctic Research (AWI)
  2. Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg (ICBM: Institute for marine chemistry and biology)
  3. Christian-Albrechts-University Kiel (CeOS Center for Ocean and Society) (CAU)
  4. German Institute of Development and Sustainability (IDOS)
  5. German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research (University of Leipzig)
  6. Research and Technology Centre, West Coast (FTZ)
  7. GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
  8. Global Climate Forum (Berlin)
  9. Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz University Hannover
  10. Helmholtz Centre Hereon GmbH
  11. Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ)
  12. Humboldt University Berlin
  13. Johann Heinrich von Thünen Institute
  14. Schleswig-Holstein Agency for Coastal Defence, National Park and Marine Conservation (LKN/SH)
  15. Leibniz Centre for Tropical Marine Research (ZMT)
  16. Leibniz Centre for Baltic Sea Research (IOW)
  17. Leibniz Institute of Ecological Urban and Regional Development (IOER)
  18. Max Planck In­sti­tute for Mar­ine Mi­cro­bi­o­logy
  19. Senckenberg by the sea
  20. University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover (TiHo)
  21. Technische Universität Braunschweig (TUB)
  22. Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH)
  23. Umweltbundesamt (UBA)
  24. University of Greifswald
  25. University of Hamburg
  26. University of Osnabrück
  27. University of Rostock
  28. University Medical Center Schleswig Holstein (UKSH)

2. Associated partners

  1. Federal Agency for Nature Protection (BfN)
  2. Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency (BSH)
  3. Federal Waterways Engineering and Research Institute (BfW)
  4. Environmental Action Germany (DUH)
  5. Deutscher Wetterdienst (National Meteorological Service) (DWD)
  6. German Research Centre for Geosciences (GFZ)
  7. Fraunhofer Institute for Graphic Data Processing (IGD)
  8. Helmholtz Institute for Functional Marine Biodiversity (HIFMB)
  9. National Park Administration Lower Saxony Wadden Sea (NPV-NI)
  10. State Office for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Areas Schleswig Holstein (LLUR)
  11. Government-Owned Company for Water Management, Coastal and Ocean Protection Lower Saxony (NLWKN)
  12. University of Cologne
  13. WWF Germany, Wadden Sea Office (WWF)